+41 44 920 22 22 Mail
  • English
  • German

History

The eight significant periods of Ecuador’s history, which was inhabited by several independent peoples until the 15th century:

Inca period

After the Incas began to expand from Peru to the north from 1200 B.C., their 14th ruler finally defeated the Quitu around 1475, which then also meant the largest expansion of the Inca Empire with two million square kilometers (about 5 times today’s Germany).

Colonization

Around 1531, European sailors conquered the Inca Empire and thus also subjugated Ecuador, which in 1563, as Audiencia with Quito, was annexed to the viceroyalty of Peru. Until 1830 Ecuador was a Spanish colony and as such experienced all shades of colonization.

War of Independence

Between 1810 and 1830, Ecuador was at war of independence with Great Colombia and then became an independent state.

19th century

In the mid-19th century, the country was marked by internal squabbles between the conservative forces of the Sierra and the more liberal inhabitants of the Costa, who were mainly inspired by the economic consequences of the virtually booming cacao export. Also in this century, the Ecuadorians took possession of the Galapagos Islands, which had been discovered and annexed by the Spanish in 1535.

World Economic Crisis

From 1925 to 1947, political chaos prevailed in connection with the world economic crisis and the resulting collapse of the cacao industry.

Upturn

From 1947 to the early 1960s, the economic upswing began with the unbeatable success of banana cultivation and the first signs of industrialization.

Since 1973, oil production has played a central role in determining the country’s economic and political stability. In the 20th century, Ecuador went through numerous processes under several presidencies, which continue to have an effect to this day. One of the first was the enforcement of religious freedom and the strict separation of church and state, and a start was made on expanding the road and railroad network.

Economy

Facts & Figures

Republic of Ecuador

(República del Ecuador): located on the northwest coast of South America, Andean country on the equator, independent from Spain since 1822, from Great Colombia since May 13, 1830

National languages

Spanish, indigenous languages (Quichua and Shuar)

Area

256,370 sqkm; incl. Galápagos Islands

Population

Capital Quito 2.6 million inhabitants; Ecuador total population 17.6 million (2020); of which approx. 65% are mestizos, 25% indigenous, 7% of European origin and 3% Afro-Ecuadorians. Population growth approx. 1.5%.

Gross National Product in USD

105.5 billion (2018)

Pro-Kopf-BIP in USD

6’184 (2019)

Head of State

Lenín Moreno (Alianza País), since 24.05.2017, elected for a 4-year term. His predecessor was Rafael Correa (2007 – 2017, Alianza País).

Head of Government

Head of State as Chairman of the Council of Ministers

Form of State/Government

 Presidential democracy with a unicameral parliament (“Asamblea Nacional”) based on the 2008 constitution.

 

Government party

Alianza País

Administrative structure of the country

24 provinces, each divided into cantons

Religions, Churches

Roman Catholic Church (about 85% of the population), Protestants, Jews, followers of natural religions

Membership in international organizations

 United Nations and specialized agencies, Organization of American States (OAS), Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC, chaired 2015/2016), Andean Community, G-77, Inter-American Development Bank (BID), WTO, Rio Group (since 1990), OPEC (again since November 2007), Union of South American Nations (UNASUR, based in Quito), Bolivarian Alliance for America (ALBA), Mercosur (associated), Latin American Integration Association (ALADI), Latin American Economic System (SELA)

Culture

A propósito Ecuador, a country of cultural diversity!

5

South America's largest handicraft market in Otavalo - colorful and inspiring

5

Panama hats" - come from Ecuador and have been woven from the leaves of the native Toquilla palm for centuries

5

Bamboo flute and percussion instruments - the traditional music of the Andes

5

Colonial buildings in historic cities like Cuenca or Quito - Quito's old town was declared the first UNESCO Cultural Heritage Site in 1978

5

Train ride to the Devil's Nose - a masterpiece of engineering of the time

5

Surfing and dancing to South American rhythms - joie de vivre on the coast

5

Ethnic diversity - rainforest areas where some indigenous people still live in desired isolation.

Is that all? No, Ecuador offers much more! The culture of each region has been shaped by its history and its population. Depending on the geographical location, in some places economic influences have been more formative and in other places ethnic influences. Thus, the mentalities of the Creole extraverted Costeños (coastal dwellers) differ from the more conservative Serranos (highland dwellers) or the more quiet Colonos (mestizo settlers) in the east of the country, whose settlement in the 1960s was promoted by the government as a mixture of Spaniards and Indígenas (indigenous population). Dispersed over large territories, different tribes of indigenous people like the Huaorani, Shuar or Achuar still live in the rainforest area.

Since 1998, the constitution has taken this fact into account by defining Ecuador as a multi-ethnic and pluricultural state that recognizes the collective rights of indigenous and Afro-Ecuadorian groups. As colorful as the population is, as richly shaped are the manners, rituals and customs that are allowed to continue everywhere. Catholicism, which was declared the state religion in colonial times, is still practiced by over 85% of the population (including the majority of indigenous and Afro-Ecuadorianos).

Nature

The Ecuadorian nature reflects a surprising variety of conditions to first-time visitors. First of all, the weather and regional or topographically determined climatic characteristics. Not all people when being in the capital Quito, located at 2850 m, take climbing stairs as easy as at home.
The country of volcanoes, of 55 volcanoes, 18 are still classified as active. Even though Cotopaxi (5897 m), Guagua Pichincha (4778 m) and Tunghurahua (5023 m) are classified as dangerous, visitors and locals rely on active monitoring, which should allow time for an appropriate reaction. The highest volcano is the Chimborazo with an impressive 6310 m height.

The Andes divide the country into different characteristic regions. The beauty of the remaining large areas of tropical rainforest, cloud forests and other unique regions is not by chance in the focus of global environmental interest. After all, Ecuador is considered one of the most species-rich countries in the world in terms of flora and fauna, with an above-average number of species in relation to the size of the country. Tapirs, condors, pumas, spectacled bears as well as numerous species of monkeys, birds and butterflies still find valuable habitat in Ecuador.

Of course, Ecuador’s nature cannot be mentioned without referring to the Galápagos Islands, which in turn was crowned by UNESCO in 1978 as the first Natural Heritage Site. For the state this means a serious obligation and at the same time an enormous challenge to never put economic interests above ecological responsibility.

+41 44 920 22 22 Mail ANGEBOT

Geschichte

Die acht markanten Perioden der Geschichte Ecuadors, welches bis ins 15. Jahrhundert von mehreren unabhängigen Völkern bewohnt wurde:

Inkazeit

Nachdem die Inkas ab 1200 v.Chr. begannen sich aus Peru Richtung Norden auszudehnen, besiegte ihr 14. Herrscher schliesslich um 1475 die Quitu, was dann auch mit zwei Millionen Quadratkilometern (ca. 5 Mal das heutige Deutschland) die grösste Ausdehnung des Inkareiches bedeutete.

Kolonialisierung

Um 1531 eroberten die europäischen Seefahrer das Inkareich und unterwarfen damit auch Ecuador, das 1563 als Audiencia mit Quito dem Vizekönigreich Peru zugeschlagen wurde. Bis 1830 war Ecuador spanische Kolonie und erlebte als solche alle Schattierungen der Kolonialisierung.

Unabhängigkeitskrieg

Zwischen 1810 und 1830 stand Ecuador im Unabhängigkeitskrieg mit Grosskolumbien und wurde danach zum unabhängigen Staat.

19. Jahrhundert

Mitte 19. Jahrhundert war das Land von internen Querelen zwischen den konservativen Kräften der Sierra und den liberaleren Bewohnern der Costa, welche v.a. von den wirtschaftlichen Folgen des geradezu boomenden Kakaoexportes beflügelt waren, geprägt. Ebenfalls in diesem Jahrhundert nahmen die Ecuadorianer die Galapagosinseln in Besitz, welche 1535 von den Spaniern entdeckt und annektiert worden waren.

Weltwirtschaftskrise

Ab 1925 bis 1947 herrschte im Zusammenhang mit der Weltwirtschaftskrise und dem damit einhergehenden Zusammenbruch der Kakaoindustrie ein politisches Chaos.

Aufschwung

Ab 1947 bis anfangs 60er Jahre begann durch den bis heute unschlagbar erfolgreichen Anbau von Bananen und ersten Ansätzen einer Industrialisierung der ökonomische Neuaufschwung.

Seit 1973 bestimmt die Erdöl-Produktion die wirtschaftliche und politische Stabilität des Landes in zentraler Weise mit. Im 20. Jahrhundert ging Ecuador unter mehreren Präsidentschaften durch zahlreiche Prozesse, welche bis in die heutige Zeit nachwirken. Einer der ersten war die Durchsetzung der Religionsfreiheit und strikte Trennung von Kirche und Staat und es wurde begonnen, das Strassen- und Eisenbahnnetz auszubauen.

Wirtschaft & Staat

Facts & Figures

Republik Ecuador

(República del Ecuador): an der Nordwestküste Südamerikas gelegen, Andenstaat am Äquator, unabhängig von Spanien seit 1822, von Grosskolumbien seit dem 13. Mai 1830

Landessprachen

Spanisch, indigene Sprachen (Quichua und Shuar)

Fläche

256.370 qkm; inkl. Galápagos-Inseln

Bevölkerung

Hauptstadt Quito 2,2 Mio. Einwohner in der Metropolitanregion; insgesamt 16,2 Mio. Einwohner (2015); davon ca. 65% Mestizen, 25% Indigene, 7% europäischer Herkunft sowie 3% Afro-Ecuadorianer. Bevölkerungswachstum ca. 1,5%; zuletzt erhebliche Rückwanderung, vor allem aus Spanien

Bruttoinlandsprodukt in USD

99,1 Mrd. (2016)

Pro-Kopf-BIP in USD

5’997 (2016)

Staatsoberhaupt

Lenín Moreno (Alianza País), seit 24.05.2017, gewählt für eine 4jährige Amtszeit. Vorgänger war Rafael Correa (2007 – 2017, Alianza País)

Regierungschef

Staatsoberhaupt als Vorsitzender des Ministerrates

Staatsform/Regierungsform

Präsidialdemokratie mit Einkammerparlament („Asamblea Nacional“) auf Grundlage der Verfassung von 2008.

Regierungspartei

Alianza País

Verwaltungsstruktur des Landes

24 Provinzen, jeweils unterteilt in Kantone

Religionen, Kirchen

Römisch-katholische Kirche (ca. 85% der Bevölkerung), Protestanten, Juden, Anhänger von Naturreligionen

Mitgliedschaft in internationalen Organisationen

Vereinte Nationen und Sonderorganisationen, Organisation Amerikanischer Staaten (OAS), Gemeinschaft Lateinamerikanischer und Karibischer Staaten (CELAC, Vorsitz 2015/2016), Andengemeinschaft, G-77, Interamerikanische Entwicklungsbank (BID), WTO, Río-Gruppe (seit 1990), OPEC (erneut seit November 2007), Union Südamerikanischer Nationen (UNASUR, Sitz in Quito), Bolivarische Allianz für Amerika (ALBA), Mercosur (assoziiert), Lateinamerikanische Integrationsvereinigung (ALADI), Lateinamerikanisches Wirtschaftssystem (SELA)

Kultur

A propósito Ecuador, ein Land der kulturellen Vielfalt!

5

Südamerikas grösster Markt für Handwerkskunst in Otavalo – farbenfroh und inspirierend

5

„Panamahüte“ – stammen aus Ecuador und werden da seit Jahrhunderten aus den Blättern der einheimischen Toquilla Palme geflochten

5

Bambusflöte und Schlaginstrumente – die traditionelle Musik der Anden

5

Koloniale Bauten in historischen Städten wie Cuenca oder Quito – Quitos Altstadt wurde 1978 zur ersten UNESCO Cultural Heritage Site erklärt

5

Zugfahrt zur Teufelsnase – ein Meisterwerk der damaligen Ingenieurskunst

5

Surfen und tanzen zu südamerikanische Rhythmen – Lebensfreude an der Küste

5

Ethnische Vielfalt – Regenwaldgebiete, wo Ureinwohner zum Teil noch in gewünschter Isolation leben

Alles? Nein, Ecuador bietet noch viel mehr! Die Kultur jeder Region wurde durch seine Geschichte und seine Bevölkerung geprägt. Je nach geographischer Lage waren mancherorts wirtschaftliche und andernorts ethnische Einflüsse prägender. So unterscheiden sich auch die Mentalitäten der kreolisch extravertierten Costeños (Küstenbewohner) gegenüber den eher konservativen Serranos (Hochlandbewohner) oder den eher stillen Colonos (mestizische Siedler) im Osten des Landes, deren Ansiedlung in den 60er Jahren als Mischlinge von Spaniern und Indígenas (Indigene Bevölkerung) von der Regierung gefördert wurde. Über grosse Gebiete verteilt leben im Regenwaldgebiet immer noch verschiedene Stämme von Ureinwohnern wie die Huaorani, Shuar oder Achuar.

Mittlerweile trägt auch seit 1998 die Verfassung dieser Tatsache Rechnung, indem sich Ecuador als multiethnischer und plurikultureller Staat definiert, welcher die kollektiven Rechte der indigenen und afroecuadorianischen Gruppierungen anerkennt. So bunt gemischt die Bevölkerung ist, so reich geprägt sind auch die Bräuche, Rituale und Sitten, welche überall weiterleben dürfen. Der Katholizismus, welcher zu Kolonialzeiten zur Staatsreligion erklärt wurde, wird bis heute von über 85% der Bevölkerung (inkl. Mehrheiten der Indígenas und Afroecuadorianos) praktiziert.

Natur

In der ecuadorianischen Natur widerspiegelt sich Erstbesuchern eine überraschende Vielfalt an Gegebenheiten. Allem voran das Wetter und regional, bzw. topographisch bedingte, klimatische Eigenarten. Nicht alle Menschen nehmen in der auf 2850 m gelegenen Hauptstadt Quito das Treppensteigen gleich locker wie zu Hause.

Das Land der Vulkane, von 55 Vulkanen werden noch deren 18 als aktiv eingestuft. Auch wenn der Cotopaxi (5897 m), der Guagua Pichincha (4778 m) und der Tunghurahua (5023 m) als gefährlich eingestuft werden, verlassen sich Besucher und Einheimische auf die aktive Überwachung, welche Zeit zu rechtzeitigem Handeln lassen sollte. Der höchste Vulkan ist der Chimborazo mit beindruckenden 6310 m Höhe.

Die Anden trennen das Land in verschiedene charakteristische Regionen. Die Schönheit der verbleibenden grossen Flächen tropischen Regenwaldes, der Nebelwälder sowie anderer einmaliger Regionen ist nicht von ungefähr im Focus globaler Umweltschutzinteressens. Immerhin gilt Ecuador bezüglich Tier- und Pflanzenwelt als eines der artenreichsten Länder der Erde, wo im Verhältnis zur Landesgrösse überdurchschnittlich viele Arten existieren. Tapire, Kondore, Pumas, Brillenbären sowie zahlreiche Affen-, Vogel- und Schmetterlingsarten finden in Ecuador noch wertvollen Lebensraum.

Natürlich kann Ecuadors Natur nicht erwähnt werden, ohne auf die Galapagos Inseln hinzuweisen, welche ihrerseits von der UNESCO 1978 als erste Natural Heritage Site gekrönt wurde. Dies bedeutet für den Staat eine ernsthafte Verpflichtung und gleichzeitig eine enorme Herausforderung, ökonomische Interessen niemals über die ökologische Verantwortung zu stellen.